Nou pale Kreyòl · Hablamos Español · Falamos Português
Car Accident

Understanding Florida’s Insurance No-Fault Rule

Florida’s Insurance No-Fault Rule – The fault line in Florida’s insurance laws revolve around two required insurances: personal injury protection (PIP) and property damage liability. Every driver is required to carry both of these insurances.

The Injury Firm 2 min read

Property Damage Liability, required at a minimum of $10,000, pays for the damage caused to another person’s property through your motor vehicle accident, including a fence or landscaping.

PIP coverage, known as no-fault coverage, is a crucial part of the insurance mix. In Florida, car owners are required to have a minimum of $10,000 in PIP insurance, although there are some recommendations that the coverage extend higher. PIP insurance will cover medical bills for the driver, family members and anyone who was a passenger in the vehicle when the accident occurred. The “no-fault” relates to the claim’s payout: A PIP claim in Florida is designed to be paid regardless of fault, or in legal terms, legal liability. The goal of the coverage is to reduce payment delay for injured drivers, as well as limit the utilization of the court system.

However, there are strings to Florida’s Insurance No-Fault Rule . What is hardly ever revealed to Florida motorists is that the $10,000 PIP benefits commonly only apply to medical expenses, lost wages, and other limited reimbursable expenses. If you are injured you are not entitled to $10,000 in your pocket.

It is unfortunate that those injured in car accidents misunderstand PIP law and the way it influences their personal injury settlement. Even worse: Most lawyers don’t understand the nuances of PIP law because of its continuous change.

If you think you can do without PIP coverage, think again: The fine for driving without PIP insurance in Florida is at least $150 for the first offense. If you let your insurance lapse a second time within three years of the first lapse, there is a reinstatement fee of $250. And if you really like to pay fines, and let the insurance lapse a third time within three years, the reinstatement fee goes up to $500. You may also lose your driver’s license.

So make certain you are covered before you go out on the road, and if a crash occurs, that you are in the hands of a well-educated and experienced legal team who will help you to secure the best result in your insurance claim. http://bit.ly/1Ux6mDM

About the author
The Injury Firm legal team

Our attorneys and legal staff write and review these articles to help injured people understand their rights. This article is general information, not legal advice.

Meet our legal team →
Why The Injury Firm

Big results. Personal approach.

The insurance company already has a team. Ours is built so you're never just a case number: real attorneys, real attention, and results that adjusters recognize.

No fees unless we win
Personal attention
Proven results
Free case review
Available 24/7
Free case evaluation
Takes about a minute. A member of our legal team will contact you.
No fees unless we win · Confidential

Don't pay for someone else's mistake.

You pay $0 unless we win. Tell us what happened and an attorney will review your case, free.