Nou pale Kreyòl · Hablamos Español · Falamos Português
Safety

Driver’s Ed 101

The Injury Firm 2 min read

The top seven ways to keep safe on Fort Lauderdale’s roads:

Driving for some is simple; for others, not so easy. The key to navigating the Fort Lauderdale’s roads is defensive driving – always know that someone will be making a U-turn on the opposite side of the road at the same time you are turning, and that lane-switching is at times a race that rivals the Daytona 500.

To make your driving experience in Fort Lauderdale as easy – and safe – as possible, www.visitflorida.com to view driving tips. With people coming in from the north to enjoy the winter in South Florida, it’s wise for both out-of-towners and locals to take a minute to re-educate on the rules of the road, and avoid a car accident that could lead to personal injury.

How well do you know some of the basic driving laws to keep safe on Fort Lauderdale’s roads? Here are the top seven:

  • Right on red: A right turn at a red light is allowed after coming to a complete stop, unless a sign indicating “no right on red” is posted at the intersection.
  • Headlights: Headlights must be on from dusk to dawn, as well as in fog or rain. Turn off windshield wipers when stopping at toll booths.
  • Move over: Any time law enforcement vehicles are in one of the “break-down” lanes, either assisting a motorist or pulling over a speeding vehicle, drivers must move to the far lane away from the police, or slow down to 20 miles per hour below the speed limit. If the speed limit is 20 miles per hour or less, drivers must slow down to five miles per hour.
  • Baby boy in a car seat for safety

    Baby boy in a car seat for safety

    Child car seats: Every driver in Florida must provide for the protection of any child five years of age or younger by using a crash-tested, federally approved car seat. For children up to three years old, the restraint must be a separate carrier or a vehicle manufacturer’s integrated child seat. For children four to five years old, a separate carrier, an integrated child seat, or a booster seat may be used.

  • Seat belts: You must wear a seat belt in an operating vehicle if you’re the driver of the vehicle, a front seat passenger of any age, or under 18 years old. Rear seat passengers should also be belted to avoid injury.
  • Woman texting while driving and hits pedetrian

    Woman driving and texting on cell phone about to hit a man on a bicycle.

    Cell phones and texting: As obvious as this one is, it bears repeating: It is illegal to text while driving, regardless of age. There are no talking bans on talking on cell phones while driving.

  • Drinking and driving: Driving while drinking alcohol or while under its influence is illegal.

If you need help on the road, dial *FHP on Florida interstates and highways in an emergency, to reach the Florida Highway Patrol.

The rush of the holidays is over, but drivers are still cramming the roads in Fort Lauderdale and throughout South Florida, as warm weather entices people to head south. Be wise and stay alert, and remember to consult a Fort Lauderdale personal injury litigation attorney should you become involved in a car crash.

About the author
The Injury Firm legal team

Our attorneys and legal staff write and review these articles to help injured people understand their rights. This article is general information, not legal advice.

Meet our legal team →
Why The Injury Firm

Big results. Personal approach.

The insurance company already has a team. Ours is built so you're never just a case number: real attorneys, real attention, and results that adjusters recognize.

No fees unless we win
Personal attention
Proven results
Free case review
Available 24/7
Free case evaluation
Takes about a minute. A member of our legal team will contact you.
No fees unless we win · Confidential

Don't pay for someone else's mistake.

You pay $0 unless we win. Tell us what happened and an attorney will review your case, free.